Red Lentil Soup

October 23, 2010

I realize that it was only a day or two ago that I posted Peter’s incredible ‘Lil Bit O’Errrthing’ Cookies, but in order to make my J452 deadline, I have to write two posts per week, and Sunday is fast approaching.

I have to say, one of the best things about my J452 Strategic Public Relations Communications class is that it actually does force me to keep up on my blog – something I love doing, but that easily gets tossed to the side when my schedule gets busy.  J452 has also given me a new understanding and appreciation for social media communications.  While I have been a capable and regular user of Facebook for the past couple of years, microblogging has been something that until recently, I’ve stayed away from.  Hopefully, that can be something that changes this term.  At this point, I have a basic (but admittedly still limited) understanding of how to use Twitter.  For awhile I was restricted to simple re-tweets, but I am proud to announce that I now know how to post my own updates, send DM’s (Direct Messages), use @Replies and hashtags.  Maybe someday I’ll figure out how to sent out blog updates via Twitter.  It can’t be that hard, right?

Anyways, here’s the latest recipe.  As usual, this soup was inspired from a recipe I found on 101Cookbooks.com.  I’ve been wanting to make something with red lentils for a long time, and this recipe was a perfect one to use.  This soup is creamy, hearty, and delicious.  It’s extremely simple, and definitely healthy.  Could there be a more perfect combination?

Red Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 shallots, chopped (I bet green onions would be fine)
  • 1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes
  • 6 cups vegetable stock (or water)
  • 1 1/3 cup red lentils, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup brown rice, rinsed
  • salt to taste (instead I added a big teaspoon of Marmite, but I realize this might be hard to find if you haven’t been to England recently)
  • slivered almonds, toasted (optional)
  • kalamata olives, chopped (optional)
  • avocado, chopped (optional)
  • fresh tomatoes, chopped (optional)

Preparation:

  1. In a big soup pot, combine the olive oil, onion, green onions, and red pepper flakes.  Heat on medium until onions turn brown and caramelize a little bit, stirring occasionally.
  2. Stir in the broth, bring to a boil, then stir in the lentils and rice.  Simmer for about 30 minutes, or until the rice isn’t too crunchy anymore.
  3. Serve each bowl topped with almonds, tomatoes, olives, avocado, and a slight drizzle of olive oil if you want.

Makes 4 to 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

