Did I mention I was a Public Relations student?

October 10, 2010

As of this year, I am a senior at the University of Oregon, trying desperately to finish my degree in Public Relations, while still maintaining a real life that involves cooking and baking.  For my Strategic Public Relations Communications class this term, and I am required to keep blog that is related to public relations.  So, for the next three months, Adventures of a Vegan Girl with include public relations-related posts, and not just recipes.

As of now, I have been a happy vegan for about two and a half years.  Have I been a perfect vegan?  No.  London, France, Switzerland, and Italy did a good job of pushing me back into the vegetarian category for the duration of my time abroad, and cooking for myself was out of the question.

Overall, London proved to be the most vegan-friendly, and is great for vegetarians.  While I was there, my boyfriend sent me the link to a great little website called Vegan London, which outlines how to survive being vegan in London. After spending three months there, I can say that MookyChick really knows her stuff!

Unlike here in the U.S., you can easily find vegan food in the ‘Free-from’ section in the local London supermarkets.  Both Tesco and Sainsburys had plenty of options.  Beware of ‘vegetarian’ cheese, though.  My London host-mom bought some for me thinking it was vegan, but it’s definitely not.  :(

Overall, London was surprisingly vegan/vegetarian aware in general.  Vegan products were well-marketed in grocery stores, and were readily available to the general public.  According to my host-mom, ‘free-range’ eggs really do mean free-range in London, where laws are enforced and the industry is actually regulated.

One thing that I especially enjoyed in London was the delicious vegan soymilk and soy yogurt.  Alpro Soya milk was the most creamy, satisfying vegan “milk” that I have ever tasted, and the Alpro Soya yogurt was literally a godsend.

If only I had known about Alpro’s Soya Chocolate Desserts.  But now I know for  next time.  :)

2 Responses to “Did I mention I was a Public Relations student?”

  1. SevenofNine Says:

    Hmm… okay, thanks for the suggestion. And I’m glad you liked the transition!


  2. Really fun story and good segueway into the PR portion of your post.

    Suggestion: My email version of your post had a difficult time loading. I’m guessing the images may need to be downsized to a lower resolution. It can appear to be the same size on the screen, but the resolution could be as low as 75. (Ask you dad)


Leave a Reply

