Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies

February 20, 2010

This recipe originally came from the 101 cookbooks blog, under the name ‘Mexican Wedding Cookies”.  They are DELICIOUS!  I was looking for a way to use up some whole wheat pastry flour, and this seemed like a good recipe to try.  They’re not too sweet, and are super light and buttery tasting.  They’re also fun to make.

Mine didn’t turn out to be the prettiest cookies in the world, but I didn’t have a lot to work with.  If I made them again I might make them thicker, and use smaller shapes.  I also had problems with the dough getting too warm because I used SmartBalance Light butter, which stays very soft even in the fridge.  Luckily, this didn’t have any negative effects on the taste though. :)

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. pecans, toasted and cooled to room temperature (I forgot to toast mine.   The cookies were still good, but you couldn’t taste the pecans that well.  Don’t forget to toast them!)
  • 1 c. vegan butter (I used 1/2 c. vegan SmartBalance Light since I ran out of normal Earthbalance)
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • a “splash” of vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 c. oat flour
  • 1/2 t. fine grain sea salt (yes, I actually did use fine grain sea salt, from my lovely sea salt grinder. :) )
  • powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Puree the toasted pecans in a food processor until they become a fine meal, but not a paste.

In a mixer (I used WAY too big of a bowl!) beat the butter until it’s creamy, add the sugar and mix until everything is creamy and lighter in color.  The vanilla goes in next, and then the nut meal.  Slowly add the flours and salt and mix until a stiff dough forms (mine was not stiff, but it was fine).  On a piece of plastic wrap (I had to use parchment paper) pat the dough into a disk, about 3/4-inch thick.  Cover with another piece of plastic wrap and chill in the freezer for 10-15 minutes.  The makes it easier to use the cookie cutters.

Use a 1-inch cookie cutter to shape the cookies and place them on a lined baking sheet.  Bake for 12 minutes or until the bottoms of the cookies begin to brown just a bit.  Dust with powdered sugar.

Makes 1 1/2 dozen small cookies.


Note: Next time, I would try adding almond extract, and I would try a variation with lemon.  The original recipe also suggests adding a splash of bourbon, but I didn’t have any (But I could buy some if I wanted because I’m 21 now!!!).  :)

Leave a Reply

