Almond Currant Scones

February 3, 2010

I made a similar version of these about a year ago that did not turn out very good.  Recently though, I was inspired to give them another shot.  This time, they turned out great.  I think the key is in using regular, whole-wheat all-purpose flour (instead of bread flour, for example).  They scored high approval from the non-vegan boyfriend, and even earned the coveted “I would never have known these were vegan!” from friends and roommates.  I should also add that this recipe originally came from The Joy of Vegan Baking book.

Ingredients:

  • 1 flaxseed egg (2 T. ground flaxseeds + 3 T. water, whipped together)
  • 2 T. water
  • 2 1/2 c. whole-wheat all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 c. granulated sugar
  • 4 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 3/4 c. Earthbalance vegan butter
  • 1 c. currants
  • 1 c. chopped almonds
  • 1/2 t. almond extract
  • 1/2 c. nondairy milk (I used whole grain milk this time)
  • Extra milk or water as needed
  • 2 to 3 T. nondairy milk for brushing the tops
  • Cinnamon and sugar for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whip the flax seeds and water until thick and creamy, and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Add the butter to the dry ingredients and cut into small pieces with a pastry blender, until it resembles course, crumbly, bread crumbs (leaving chunks of butter results in nice flaky scones). Stir in currants and almonds.

Add the milk, almond extract, and egg replacer mixture, but keep mixing to a minimum.  Mix just until the dry ingredients are nearly moistened.

Gather the dough into a ball (add more non-dairy milk or water if needed), and place on a lightly floured surface.  Pat the dough out to a 1/2-inch-thick round, and cut into 10 pieces (mine were triangles).  Place them 1/2 inch apart on the baking sheet, brush the tops with nondairy milk, and sprinkle with come cinnamon and sugar.

Bake until the tops are golden brown, 12 to 15 mins.  Let cook on a wire rack.  These are DELICIOUS served warm from the oven.

Makes 10 good size scones.

2 Responses to “Almond Currant Scones”

  1. Wendy Says:

    I’m soooo envious! I wish I could bake with regular flour again. I did make morning glory muffins with whole wheat flour for friends that came over the the Intention Experiment Meditation. They were great! I may start making up social reasons so that I can justify making baked goodies.


    • Yeah, I have to say, I think one of my favorite things about having a boyfriend is having someone to bake for. I’m not kidding. I get depressed when there’s no one around to eat the stuff I make. The social reasons things is a good idea. When all else fails, I bring things to social events. Baked goods have also served as great payment for people who give me rides. People love it! :)


Leave a Reply

